Institut de Mathématiques de Toulouse

Home > Fermat Prize

2017 Fermat Prize results

by Jean-François COULOMBEL - published on

The laureates of the 2017 Fermat Prize are :

Simon A. Brendle, for his many deep results in Geometric Analysis, involving partial differential equations of elliptic, parabolic, or hyperbolic type; in particular, for his elegant proof of the Lawson conjecture, for his characterization of soliton solutions to the 3-dimensional Ricci flow and mean curvature flow, and for his recent and profound contributions, jointly with Gerhard Huisken, to the analysis of mean curvature flow of mean convex surfaces in 3-manifolds.

Nader Masmoudi, for his very deep and creative work in the field of nonlinear partial differential equations and particularly for his recent contributions to the complete and rigorous resolution of hydrodynamic stability problems that were raised at the end of the nineteenth century by the founding fathers of modern fluid mechanics.

The Fermat Prize award ceremony will take place in Toulouse in 2018.